Skip to main content

Prize-winning Teachers

Kevin Boyle
Kevin Boyle speaking at McCormick Teaching Award ceremony (photo by Matthew Kaplan)
Kevin Boyle and Vicky Getis
Kevin Boyle and spouse Victoria Getis, Director of Teaching & Learning Technologies (Kaplan)
All Weinberg Teaching Awards
2019 Weinberg Teaching Award Recipients (photo by Genie Lemieux)
Ji-Yeon Yuh, Joy Sales
Joy Sales (r) with Professor Ji-Yeon Yuh (Lemieux)
Adrian Randolph, Henry Binford, Ken Alder
Professor Henry Binford (center) with Dean Adrian Randolph (l) and Professor Ken Alder (r) (Lemieux)
Adrian Randolph, Melanie Hall, Laura Hein, Ken Alder
Melanie Hall (second from left) with Dean Adrian Randolph and Professors Laura Hein and Ken Alder (Lemieux)

These exemplary faculty demonstrate excellence in classroom teaching and represent innovative curricular leadership across the university.”

Office of the Provost, University Teaching Awards

We were proud and pleased this year that a historian won Northwestern’s most prestigious teaching award, the Charles Deering McCormick Professorship, bestowed by the Provost. Kevin Boyle’s one-sentence statement of his approach: “I need students to know that history is an analytical discipline centered not on the facts themselves, but on interpretation which rests on rigorous argument and precise prose.”

Three other historians won WCAS teaching award this year: Professor Henry Binford was the recipient of the E. LeRoy Hall Award for 2018-19, and two of our graduate students, Joy Sales and Melanie Hall, won teaching prizes.

As we all know, good teaching requires tremendous energy, imagination, and commitment. It is inspiring to watch them at their work.

photos by Matthew Kaplan | Matthew Kaplan Photography
and Genie Lemieux | Genie Lemieux Photography

Next article