Skip to main content

Graduate News and Awards 2014-2015

YEAR-END 2014-15

The History Department congratulates our 2015 departmental prize winners:

Rebecca Marchiel, Harold Perkin Prize for Best Dissertation, for "Neighborhoods First: The Urban Reinvestment Movement in the Era of Financial Deregulation"

Sian Olson-Dowis, George Romani Prize for Best First-Year Paper, for "The Moral Economy of the Urban Crisis: Detroit, Poletown, and the Industrial Imaginary in the Age of Capital Flight"

Emily Curtis Walters, T. W. Heyck Prize for Graduate Research in British or Irish History

Peter Thilly, Lacey Baldwin Smith Prize for Seminar Teaching Excellence

Andrew Baer, Lacey Baldwin Smith Prize for Excellence as a Teaching Assistant

We salute of all our of recent Ph.D. graduates, listed here with the titles of their dissertations:

Neal T. Dugre, "Inventing New England: The Rise and Fall of the United Colonies in British North America, 1630-1684."

Alexander Gourse, "Restraining the Reagan Revolution: The Lawyers' War on Poverty and the Durable Liberal State, 1964-1989."

Zachary J. Jacobson, "American Studies, the Soviet Union: A Cultural History of US-Soviet Encounters through the Cold War."

Donald F. Johnson, "Occupied America: Everyday Experience and the Failure of Imperial Authority in Revolutionary Cities under British Rule, 1775-1783."

Rebecca K. Marchiel, "Neighborhoods First: The Urban Reinvestment Movement in the Era of Financial Deregulation, 1966-1989."

Wen-Qing Ngoei, "The Arc of Containment: Britain, Malaya, Singapore, and the Rise of American Hegemony in Southeast Asia, 1941-76."

Phonshia Nie, "Chinese Americans and Jim Crow, 1920-1970."

Adam E. Plaiss, "The Rise of Technological Citizenship: Infrastructure in Progressive Era America."

Andrea F. Seligman, "Encircling Value: Inland Trade in the Precolonial East African-Indian Ocean World, ca. 1st-17th Centuries."

Abigail P. Trollinger, "Becoming Entitled: Relief and Unemployment Insurance Before the New Deal."


Current Grads

Alvita Akiboh has been accepted into the Tobin Project's Prospectus Development Workshop, which includes a trip to Cambridge, MA at the end of May for the workshop as well as a cash prize.

Laila Ballout has accepted a position as Instructor of History at Phillips Academy Andover.

Jessica Biddlestone has received the Marandon Fellowship from the Société des Professeurs Français et Francophones d'Amérique, which will support her research in France next year.

Kyle Burke has received the Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Award in the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences. He has also been awarded a postdoctoral fellowship from the Center for the United States and the Cold War at New York University's Tamiment Library.

Emily Curtis Walters has been awarded a month-long fellowship at the Harry Ransom Center at the University of Texas at Austin.

Yuri Doolan has received a Fulbright Research Fellowship that will take him to South Korea in 2015-16. He also received an International Conference of NextGen Korean Studies Scholars (NEKST) 2015 Travel Grant Award from the Nam Center for Korean Studies at the University of Michigan.

Beth Healey, who has been awarded a six-month visiting fellowship from the Jack, Joseph and Morton Mandel Center for Advanced Holocaust Studies at the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum.

Ashley Johnson has accepted an offer as a visiting assistant professor at SUNY Binghamton and will be teaching there during the 2015-2016 year.

Charles Keenan has accepted a residential post-doctoral fellowship at the Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies at Boston College for 2015-16.

Wen-Qing Ngoei has been named a Rajawali Research Fellow at the Equality Development and Globalization Studies (EDGS) program at Northwestern for the 2015-16 academic year.

Austin Parks has accepted a Visiting Assistant Professorship in Japanese History at Oberlin College for 2015-16. He will be dividing his time between the History Department and the East Asian Studies Program.

Keith Rathbone has accepted a Visiting Assistant Professorship at the College of Wooster for 2015-16.

Peter Thilly has accepted an offer as a Faculty Fellow in East Asian Studies and History from Colby College and will be teaching there during the 2015-2016 year.

Alum News

Celeste McNamara (Ph.D. 2013) has accepted an assistant professorship at Warwick University in the UK.


Current Grads

Michael Martoccio has been awarded a Renaissance Society of America Young Scholar Research Grant. This grant will provide funding for him to conduct research this summer in Venice and Florence for an article-length project entitled "Buying Power: The Market for States in Early Modern Europe."

Melissa Vise has accepted a Visiting Assistant Professorship at New York University for next year in the Italian Studies department.

Andrea Christmas and Will FitzSimons have won Dissertation Proposal Development Fellowships from the Social Science Research Council.

Don Johnson has accepted a tenure-track assistant professorship at North Dakota State University.

Alum News

Andrea Seligman (Ph.D. 2014), currently a visiting assistant professor at Allegheny College, has accepted an offer from CCNY to join their Department of History as a tenure-track assistant professor in African History, beginning in 2016, after she has completed her year at UMass Amherst as a Mellon-Sawyer Fellow, 2015-2016.

Terri Keeley (Ph.D. 2013), currently a visiting assistant professor at Georgetown, has accepted a tenure-line position at the University of Louisville.

Rebecca Marchiel (Ph.D. 2014) has accepted a tenure-track assistant professorship at the University of Mississippi. She has also been awarded a Charles Warren Center Fellowship at Harvard next year. She will participate in their "History of American Capitalism" year-long workshop. The University of Mississippi is allowing her a year of leave so that she can accept the fellowship.

FALL 2014

Current Grads

Yuri Doolan has won a Korea Foundation Language Training Scholarship, which will support his research in Korea for up to twelve months next year.

Marcos Leitão de Almeida has published a chapter in a book released in Brazil: "Vozes Centro-Africanas no Atlântico Sul (1831-c.1850)" [Central African Voices in the South Atlantic], in Ivana Stolze Lima and Lauro do Carmo, eds., História Social da Língua Nacional: Diáspora Africana [Social History of the National Language: African Diaspora] (Nau Editora, 2014). He also wrote the appendix about the slave trade to Brazil (c. 1560-c. 1850).

Joy Sales has been awarded an SSRC Graduate Studies Enhancement Grant for her project on Filipino transnational activism in Chicago.

Yanqiu Zheng's paper, entitled "A Specter of Extraterritoriality: The Legal Status of U.S. Troops in China, 1943-1947," has received an honorable mention for the Frank Gibney Award, which is given to the best graduate student essay submitted to the Journal of American-East Asian Relations.

Back to top