Skip to main content

Graduate News and Awards 2011-2012

YEAR-END 2011-12

The History Department congratulates our 2012 departmental prize winners:

Will Cavert, Harold Perkin Prize for Best Dissertation, for "Producing Pollution: Coal, Smoke and Society in London, 1550-1750"

Blake Smith, George Romani Prize for Best First-Year Paper, for "Diplomacy and its Forms of Knowledge: Anquetil-Duperron, the Balance of Power, and India in the French Global Imaginary, 1778-1803"

Alexandra Lindgren-Gibson, T. W. Heyck Prize for Graduate Research in British or Irish History, for "British Non-elite Culture in India: Sexuality and Race in the Cantonment, 1858-1914"

D'Weston Haywood and Rebecca Marchiel, Lacey Baldwin Smith Prize for Seminar Teaching Excellence

Adam Plaiss and Marlous van Waijenburg, Lacey Baldwin Smith Prize for Excellence as a Teaching Assistant

We salute of all our of recent Ph.D. graduates, listed here with the titles of their dissertations:

Kathryn Burns-Howard, "Agents of Their Own Souls: The Family, Insanity and Individual Conscience in the Nineteenth-Century United States."

Tristan Cabello, "Race, Homosexuality, and the Making of Bronzeville, 1935-65."

Emily J. Callaci, "Ujamaa Urbanism: History, Urban Culture and the Politics of Authenticity in Socialist Dar es Salaam, 1967-80."

Genevieve R. Carlton, "Worldly Consumers: The Demand for Maps in Renaissance Italy."

William Cavert, "Producing Pollution: Coal, Smoke, and Society in London, 1550-1750."

David Davidson, "Republic of Risk: Canals and Commercial Infrastructure Planning in the United States, 1783-1808."

Bettina Hessler, "Transatlantic Religion and Nation Formation in America: The Moravian Church, 1735-1818."

Pamela Khanakwa, "'A Nation without Men?' Struggles in the Practice of Male Circumcision among the Gisu in 20th-Century Uganda."

Frances Kneupper, "German Identity and Spiritual Reform at the End of Time: Eschatological Prophecy in Late Medieval Germany."

Richard N. Lutjens, "Jews in Hiding in Nazi Berlin, 1941-1945."

Mathew Miller, "'Death Car’ Reckoning: Responses to the Automobile Slaughter in Chicago, 1920-1938."


Courtney Kneupper (Ph.D. 2012) has won a postdoctoral fellowship at the University of Erlangen International Consortium for Research in the Humanities for the 2012-2013 academic year.

Richard Lutjens Jr. (Ph.D. 2012) has been hired as a visiting assistant professor of German history at Loyola University Maryland.

Juri Bottura has received a Bourse Doctorale from Sciences Po, Paris, France.

Azeta Kola has received a Fulbright to pursue research in Albania.

Phonshia Nie has won a Chiang Ching-kuo Foundation Doctoral Fellowship to pursue her work on Chinese Americans in the 20th-century United States South.

Crystal Sanders (Ph.D. 2011) has accepted a tenure-line position at Penn State University.

Jesse Nasta has won the King V. Hostick Scholarship, given by the Illinois State Historical Society.

Alexandra Lindgren-Gibson has been named a Graduate Student Fellow for the Sexualities Project at Northwestern (SPAN) in 2012-2013. Also, Teri Chettiar (Ph.D. 2013) has been awarded a SPAN summer research grant.

Katy Burns-Howard (Ph.D. 2011) has landed a visiting assistant professorship in the History Department at Miami University of Ohio.

Abby Trollinger and Rebecca Marchiel will be coordinating the Newberry Library's Urban History Dissertation Group in the 2012-2013 school year.

Terri Keeley (Ph.D. 2013) has won a Charlotte W. Newcombe Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship, as has former History student Robert Harkins (M.A. 2007).

Andrew Warne (Ph.D. 2012) has been designated a Weinberg College Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Award for 2011-12.

Strother Roberts (Ph.D. 2011) has won an ACLS New Faculty Fellowship.

James Coltrain (Ph.D. 2011) has accepted a position as a faculty fellow at the University of Nebraska's Center for Digital Research in the Humanities.

Erin-Marie Legacey (Ph.D. 2011) has accepted a tenure-track position at Texas Tech University.

Nate Mathews has won a Fulbright Fellowship to pursue research in Oman.

Yanqiu Zheng published an opinion piece in the Chicago Tribune: "Who gets to try the U.S. sergeant charged with murder in Afghanistan?"

D'Weston Haywood (Ph.D. 2013) has accepted the Arnold L. Mitchem Dissertation Fellowship in the History Department at Marquette University.

Peter Thilly has won an SSRC International Dissertation Research Fellowship and a Fulbright US Student Award to conduct research in China.

Ashley Johnson has received the Sam Fishman Travel Award from the Reuther Library at Wayne State.

Donald Johnson has won the Fort Dearborn Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution American History Scholarship.


Stefanie Bator (Ph.D. 2012) has accepted job teaching history at Lake Forest (IL) Academy.

Emily Callaci (Ph.D. 2012) has accepted a tenure-track position in African history at University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Melissa Hamilton-Vise has won a Presidential Fellowship, the top honor Northwestern gives to graduate students.

Charles Keenan has published a History News Network piece on who will be the next pope.

Anne Koenig (Ph.D. 2013) has been featured in the NU Research 2011 Annual Report as an example of Excellence in Research for her work on Mental Illness in the Middle Ages.

Howard Pashman (Ph.D. 2013), a student in the joint J.D./Ph.D. program, has won an ACLS/Mellon Dissertation Completion Fellowship. Back to top